The board game tournaments consisted of either 3 rounds, except for the Settlers of Catan and Carcassonne tournaments, which each consisted of 4 rounds. In each round the players were divided into groups of three players in the Ra and Tzolk'in tournaments, groups of five in the 7 Wonders tournament, and groups of four in all other tournaments. Each group played a single game, after which the positions were determined according to the standard scoring system for the particular game. Then players were given Tournament Points according to their positions, as follows:

Joint second1.5
Joint third0.5

After the penultimate round of each tournament, the players were ranked according to the sum of their Tournament Points across all of the rounds. Where one or more players had the same number of tournament points, then the sum of their scores for the games was used as a tie-breaker. The four highest ranked players - three for Ra, five for 7 Wonders - became the 'top table' for the final round of the tournament, with their positions in this final game determining their final rankings - from winner to fourth place - in the tournament. In the case of Carcassonne, the four 'top table' players were divided into two games of two players. The winners of these two semi-final games then played a final game in order to determine the winner and runner-up for the tournament, while the losers played a third place play off.

The Ticket to Ride Open Tournament was handled differently. The players were ranked after the third and final round and then the top five players were awarded entry to the Ticket to Ride National Championship. The remaining 11 entrants to the National Championship were drawn from the top players from Regional Championships that had been held earlier.